Home » Scholarships and Contests  »  Teacher Training

Teacher Training

Bernice L. Fox Latin Teacher Training Scholarship

Eligibility. Eta Sigma Phi members who are now teaching, or preparing to teach, at the pre-collegiate level; who have received a Bachelor’s degree within the last ten years or who expect to receive it before the summer of the current academic year; and who have not received a doctoral degree. (Note: In order to be valid membership must have been registered with the national office of Eta Sigma Phi by the application deadline.)

 The award of $750 will support a summer activity contributing to the recipient’s preparation for teaching.  Examples of such activities include the American Classical League’s Summer Institute, the Conventiculum Latinum at the University of Kentucky, and the Latin/Greek Institute of Brooklyn College, the Living Latin Seminars of the Paideia Institute, or university courses leading to certification.

Nota bene:  The Paideia Institute has agreed to match the Fox Scholarship for those using the funds to attend one of the Institute’s seminars.  Thus a recipient would receive $1500 to be used toward tuition and fees.

Deadline. February 15th. The recipient will be announced at the National Convention.

This scholarship honors Bernice L. Fox, who taught English, Latin and Greek at Monmouth College in Monmouth, Illinois, from 1947 to 1981, and who served as chair of the Department of Classics from 1970 until her retirement in 1981. Throughout her long and dynamic career she worked tirelessly to promote the Classics in Illinois high schools and colleges. In 1956 she founded Monmouth College’s Gamma Omicron Chapter of Eta Sigma Phi. She was the author of Tela Charlottae, the Latin translation of E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In 1991 Monmouth College conferred on her the honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters. She died in 2003.

Members of the selection committee are appointed by the Eta Sigma Phi Board of Trustees. At present committee members include David Sick of Rhodes College (chair), Julia Hedjuk of Baylor University, and Tom Keeline of Washington University in St. Louis. In selecting the recipient of each scholarship, the committee gives attention to the quality of the applicant’s work in Greek and Latin, intention to teach at the primary- or secondary-school level, contribution to the activities of Eta Sigma Phi at the local and national level, and receipt of other funds to support participation in the field, including scholarships from Eta Sigma Phi in previous years.

For the application form, click here.

For further information and questions, please contact David Sick, Chair of the Fox Scholarship Committee, sick@rhodes.edu.