Home » Annual Convention  »  Past Conventions  »  2008 Convention Program

2008 Convention Program

2007-2008 National Officers

Megale Prytanis: Jasmine Merced-Ownbey
Beta Pi at the University of Arkansas

Megale Hyparchos: Jes Geary
Alpha Mu at the University of Missouri

Megale Grammateus: Elizabeth Torresson
Zeta Beta at Temple University

Megale Chrysophylax: Sarah Ruff
Epsilon Iota at the University of Florida

Executive Secretary

Thomas J. Sienkewicz
Gamma Omicron (Monmouth College)

Seat Figure Statue from Poggio Civitate Archaeological Excavations at UMass Amherst.

2007-2008 Board of Trustees

Martha Davis (Chair) Zeta Beta
(Temple University)

Sister Thérèse Marie Dougherty Beta Kappa
(College of Notre Dame of Maryland)

Joseph Garnjobst Eta Delta
(Hillsdale College)

Daniel Levine Beta Pi
(University of Arkansas)

David Sick Beta Psi
(Rhodes College)

Honorary Trustees

Brent M. Froberg Gamma Omega (Baylor University)
W. W. de Grummond Eta (Florida State University)
Wayne Tucker Beta Theta (Hampden-Sydney College)

Friday March 28th:

3:00- 4:00pm Leaving from Campus Center Hotel Lobby
Walking tour/ orientation of Amherst

6:00-7:00pm Herter Hall 5th floor
Registration and Reception

7:00-9:00pm Herter 227
Opening Remarks and Certamen

**Attendees will be on their own for dinner. Please refer to the enclosed guide for ideas.**

Saturday March 29th:

8:00-9:00am Bartlett Hall Atrium
Continental Breakfast

9:00-11:00am Bartlett 65
First Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis Jasmine Merced-Ownbey, presiding

1. Minutes of the 79th Annual Convention
Megale Grammateus Elizabeth Torresson
2. Reports:
Chapter Reports
Reports of Contests
Reports of Scholarships
Report of Megale Chrysophylax Sarah Ruff
Report of Megale Hyparchos Jes Geary
Old Business
New Business
Bids to host the 81st Annual Convention
Nominations for 2008-2009 National Officers
** A 10 minute break will be announced during this session.**

11:00am-12:00pm Bartlett 65
Student Paper Presentation

Zachary Good, Eta Delta (Hillsdale College) “Ripped up by the Roots: Sophocles’ Antigone and the Fall of the House of Oedipus”

Kira Jones, Zeta Iota (University of Georgia) “Golden Rain: Imagining the Self in Terence’s Eunuchus”

Jes Geary, Alpha Mu (University of Missouri) “Pulling the Strings of Isis and Serapis”

12:00-12:45pm Lunch Bartlett Atrium
Committee Meetings
New Chapters Bartlett 201
Finances Bartlett 202
Contests and Scholarships Bartlett 206
Convention Site Bartlett 207
Program Bartlett 203
Resolutions Bartlett 203
Officers Bartlett 205

12:50pm Buses Depart from Haigis Mall

1:20-4:30pm: Exploring the Pioneer Valley:
The afternoon will be divided into different sessions
There will be two sessions for the hike and the museum trip, the first bus is at 12:50 and the second bus is at 2:30, both leave from Haigis Mall


1. Mt. Holyoke Art Museum

2. Hike Up Bare Mountain

3. Afternoon Movie (Jason and the Argonaught, Lysistrata, etc) (SOM 137)

4. Ceres Comics Exhibit and create your own Classical Comic. Their will be a contest for the best comic, the winner will be announced at dinner (Bartlett Hall)

5. Roman Gaming Table (Bartlett Hall)

4:30-6:45pm Break

6:45pm Amherst Room Campus Center 1009
Roaring 20’s Costume Contest

7:00pm Amherst Room
Formal Banquet

7:45-8:15pm: Amherst Room
Certamen Award
Paper Award
Service Award
Comic Award
Life Time Achivement Award: Dr. Kenneth Kitchell

8:15-8:35pm Amherst Room
The House of Many Doors: a life in the Classics
by Kenneth Kitchell

Sunday March 30th
8:00-9:00am Bartlett Hall Atrium
Continental Breakfast

9:00-11:00am Bartlett 65
Second Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis Jasmine Merced-Ownbey, presiding

Chapter T-Shirt Contest
Committee Reports
Report of the Executive Secretary, Thomas J. Sienkewicz
Report of the Chair of the Board of Trustees
Election of 2008 Convention Site
Election of 2007-08 National Officers
Installation of Officers

Closing Remarks


Epsilon Omicron would like to acknowledge the follow groups and people for their help supporting, organizing, and hosting the convention:

Dr. Ralph Hexter, President Hampshire College
Dr. Thomas J. Sienkewicz
Dr. Marios Philippides
Dr. Rex Wallace
Lisa Marie Smith, Classics Secretary
The Faculty of the University of Massachusetts Amherst Classics Department
Mr. Joseph Lynch, Franklin High School
Mt. Holyoke Art Museum
Amherst Camber of Commerce
UMass Art Department
Past and Current Members of Epsilon Omicron

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in the Pioneer Valley, and we hope to see you again real soon.

-Epsilon Omicron Convention Committee
Andrew Carroll
Kelsey Whiting-Jones
Jesse Sawyer