Home » Annual Convention  »  Past Conventions  »  2010 Convention Program

2010 Convention Program

Eta Sigma Phi
82nd National Convention

Blacksburg, VA
April 9th – 11th, 2010
Hosted by Eta Eta
of Virginia Tech

2010-2011 National Officers

Megale Prytanis MaryBeth Banovetz
Eta Delta (Hillsdale College)

Megas Hyparchos Thomas Halvorsen
Delta Chi (St. Olaf College)

Megale Grammateus Meg Motley
Beta Pi (University of Arkansas)

Megas Chrysophylax Ryan Horowitz
Zeta Beta (Temple University)

Executive Secretary

Thomas J. Sienkewicz Gamma Omicron (Monmouth College)

2010-2011 Board of Trustees

Martha A. Davis, Chair Zeta Beta (Temple University)

Daniel Levine Beta Pi (University of Arkansas)

David Sick Beta Psi (Rhodes College)

Sister Thérèse Marie Dougherty Beta Kappa (College of Notre Dame of

Joseph Garnjobst Eta Delta (Hillsdale College)

Honorary Trustees

Brent M. Froberg Gamma Omega (Baylor University)
W. W. de Grummond Eta (Florida State University)
Wayne Tucker Beta Theta (Hampden-Sydney College)

Schedule of Events

Friday, April 9th

**Chapters with cars may park on campus throughout the weekend**

**6:30pm-7:30pm: Strolls from VT Inn and MS Inn to Hillcrest about 10 and 25 minutes respectively. Shuttles will run between Hillcrest and VT Inn**

7:00-8:00pm: Hillcrest Hall Living Room
Registration, reception, sundaes, and floats

8:00-10:00pm: Hillcrest Hall Dining Room
Opening remarks and Certamen

**10:00pm-10:30pm: Shuttles will run between Hillcrest and the Inn at VT**

Saturday, April 10th

**8:30am-9:00am: Strolls from VT Inn and MS Inn to Hahn about 5 and 25 minutes respectively. Shuttles will run between VT Inn and Hahn.**

8:30-9:00am: Hahn Hall North Atrium
Continental Breakfast

9:00am-11:00pm: 140 Hahn Hall North
First Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis MaryBeth Banovetz, presiding

Minutes of the 81st Annual Convention
Megale Grammateus Meg Motley

Chapter Reports
Reports of Contests
Reports of Scholarships
Report of Megas Chrysophylax Ryan Horowitz
Report of Megas Hyparchos Thomas Halvorsen
Report on Plans for the 83rd Annual Convention (2011) at the University of Texas Austin
Old Business
New Business
Bids to host the 84th Annual Convention (2012)
Nominations for 2010-2011 National Officers

11:00am-12:00pm: 140 Hahn Hall North
Presentation of Student Papers
“The Fate of Astyanax: Contextualizing Pathos in the Greek Epic Cycle”
Ricky J. Owens, Theta (Indiana University)
“Aeneas in Late Antiquity: The Vatican Vergil Illustrations”
Anna Sitz, Gamma Omega (Baylor University)
“Rome and Fascist Idealism in Scipione l’Africano”
Tripp Cardiff, Theta Epsilon (Trinity University)
Honorable Mention:
“A Paper Stage: Blocking in the Illuminated Manuscripts of Terence”
Theodore Harwood of Eta Delta (Hillsdale College)

12:00pm-12:45pm: Lunch – Hahn Hall North Atrium

12:45-1:30pm: Locations Listed Below
Committee Meetings
Contests and Scholarships – 220 Williams Hall
Convention Site – 320 Williams Hall
Finances – 334 Williams Hall
New Chapters – 120 Williams Hall
Officers – 134 Williams Hall
Resolutions – 140 Hahn Hall North
1:40-2:25pm and 2:30-3:15pm: Ancient Times in Modern Classrooms (** = only available 1:10-1:55)
“The Old Words Have Blood on Them: Thinking about and through Ancient and Modern Poems”
Dr. Andrew Becker
– 320 Williams Hall
“Dionysos and the Chocolate Factory”
Dr. Ann-Marie Knoblauch
– 220 Wms Hall
“A Day in the Life of Claudius” **
(dramatic reading with audience participation)
Christina Magrans, Beta Psi (Rhodes College)
– 120 Williams Hall
2:30-3:15pm: Latin Reading Workshop*
3:30-4:15pm: Latin Reading Workshop*
*Sign up for these workshops with Mark Miner on Friday evening.
– 134 Williams Hall
3:15-4:45pm: International Street Fair
Enjoy food, dancing, and music from various community and campus cultural organizations.
– Downtown Blacksburg
5:00-6:00pm: Concert: No Strings Attached
Enjoy music from this local band described as “eclectic, jazz on acoustic instruments with a world beat.”
– 100 McBryde Hall

**6:00pm-6:15pm: Strolls to both VT Inn and MS Inn about 15-min each. Shuttles will run between McBryde Hall and VT Inn.**


**6:45pm-7:15pm: We encourage driving or shuttling to Jamerson Athletic Center. Shuttles will be available from VT Inn.**

7:15pm: Bowman Room, Jamerson Athletic Center
Greco-Roman Costume Contest
7:30pm: Bowman Room, Jamerson Athletic Center
Formal Banquet
Special Initiation: Christine Sleeper
Lifetime Achievement Awards:
Sally Davis and Christine Sleeper

9:00pm: Bowman Room, Jamerson Athletic Center
Vergil’s Aeneid, performed by Mark Miner

**Shuttle vans will run between Jamerson Athletic Center and VT Inn following the performance**

Sunday, April 11th

**8:00am-9:00am: Strolls from VT Inn and MS Inn to Hillcrest about 10 and 25 minutes respectively. Shuttles will run between Hillcrest and VT Inn **

8:30-9:00am: Hillcrest Hall Living Room (Hillcrest Hall)
Continental Breakfast

9:00am: Hillcrest Hall Dining Room (Hillcrest Hall)
Second Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis Mary Beth Banovetz, presiding

Chapter Regalia Contest
Committee Reports
Report of the Executive Secretary
Report of the Chair of the Board of Trustees
Selection of 2012 Convention Site
Election of 2010-11 National Officers
Installation of Officers
Closing Remarks

**11:30am-12:30pm: Shuttles will run between Hillcrest and the VT Inn**


Our very heartfelt thanks to all those who have donated their time, energy and resources to this convention.

Special thanks to:

Andrew Becker
Ann-Marie Knoblauch
Mark Miner
No Strings Attached

Dean Sue Ott Rowlands, VT College of Liberal Arts & Human Sciences
VT Classical Studies Program
VT Department of Foreign Languages & Literatures
University Honors Program of VT
Friends of VT Classical Studies

And thanks to all of you for attending! We hope that you enjoyed your time with us. See you next year at the University of Texas Austin.

–Eta Eta Chapter