Home » Annual Convention  »  Past Conventions  »  2009 Convention Program

2009 Convention Program

2008-2009 National Officers

Megale Prytanis: Jesca Scaevola
Alpha Mu at the University of Missouri at Columbia

Megale Hyparchos: MaryBeth Banovetz
Eta Delta at Hillsdale College

Megale Grammateus: Rori Smith
Zeta Beta at Temple University

Megas Chrysophylax: Bryan Behl
Epsilon Iota at the University of Florida

Executive Secretary

Thomas J. Sienkewicz
Gamma Omicron (Monmouth College)

2008-2009 Board of Trustees

Martha Davis (Chair) Zeta Beta
(Temple University)

Sr. Thérèse Marie Dougherty Beta Kappa
(College of Notre Dame of Maryland)

Joseph Garnjobst Eta Delta
(Hillsdale College)

Daniel Levine Beta Pi
(University of Arkansas)

David Sick Beta Psi
(Rhodes College)

Honorary Trustees

Brent M. Froberg Gamma Omega (Baylor University)
W. W. de Grummond Eta (Florida State University)
C. Wayne Tucker Beta Theta (Hampden-Sydney College)

Friday, March 27th

5:00-7:00pm 1st floor Lobby, DoubleTree Hotel

6:30-7:00pm Iris/Rose Room

7:00-9:00pm Iris/Rose Room
Opening Remarks and Certamen

**Attendees will be on their own for dinner. Please refer to the enclosed guide for ideas.**

Saturday, March 28th

Buses Depart DoubleTree for Rhodes College

8:30-9:00 Barret Library 051, Rhodes College

9:00-11:00am Barret Library 051
First Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis Jesca Scaevola, presiding

1. Minutes of the 79th Annual Convention
Megale Grammateus Rori Smith
2. Welcoming Remarks, President William E. Troutt, Rhodes College
3. Reports:
Chapter Reports
Report of Contests
Report of Scholarships
Report of Megas Chrysophylax Bryan Behl
Report of Megale Hyparchos MaryBeth Banovetz
Old Business
New Business
Bids to host the 82nd Annual Convention
Nominations for 2009-2010 National Officers
** A 10 minute break will be announced during this session.**

11:00am-12:00pm Barret Library 051
Student Paper Presentation

· Left at the Altar: Eurydice’s Suicide in the Antigone
MaryBeth Banovetz, Hillsdale College

· The Tomb of Trimalchio in the Context of Roman Freedmen
Jessica Wise, Kenyon College

· A Study on the Gladiatorial Games
Katy Chenowith, Baylor University

Honorable Mention

· Child Sacrifice in Ancient Carthage
Madeline Ware, Hamilton College

· “Sweeter for Me Will Always be the Word Friend”: Marriage and Heloise as Philosopher
Megan Grundtisch, College of Wooster

12:00-12:45pm Lunch Hyde Hall, Rhodes College Refectory
Committee Meetings
New Chapters Alburty Room
Finances Hyde Hall
Contests and Scholarships Hyde Hall
Convention Site Hyde Hall
Program Hyde Hall
Resolutions Brooks Room
Officers Cambridge Room

1:00-2:00pm Frazier-Jelke A-B-C
Preparatory Lectures for Afternoon Trips

· MLK, Jr. and the Heroic Vision (Frazier-Jelke A), Prof. Joe Jansen, Department of Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
· Classical Myth and Art in the Brooks Museum (Frazier-Jelke B) Prof. Glenda Swan, Department of Art, Rhodes College
· The Heroon of Elvis (Frazier-Jelke C), Prof. Kenny Morrell and Prof. Susan Satterfield, Department of Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College

2:15-5:30pm Walking in Memphis/We’re Going to Graceland

Buses depart from the Mallory Gymnasium Lot and take participants to either the Brooks Museum of Art, Graceland, or the National Civil Rights Museum, as pre-registered. We regret that we cannot accommodate changes. Buses will not return to Rhodes.

5:30pm Return to DoubleTree Hotel

6:45pm Grand Ballroom, DoubleTree Hotel
Certamen: Vir aut Femina Vestita Splendidissime

7:00pm Grand Ballroom
Formal Banquet

7:45-8:15pm Grand Ballroom
Certamen Award
Paper Award
Service Award
Life Time Achievement Awards: Dr. Adam D. Blistein. Executive Director, American Philological Association; Ms. Alice Sanford, Hume-Fogg Academic School, Nashville, TN

8:15pm Grand Ballroom
Plenary Address
· David M. Robinson: Archaeologist and Collector
Aileen Ajootian, Department of Classics, University of Mississippi

9:00pm Grand Ballroom
After Dinner Presentations
· An Artistic Performance of Cicero’s De Senectute
William Storm, University of Iowa

· Stairway to Homer: Adapting Rock Lyrics in Attic Greek
Nathan W. Self, College of William and Mary

Sunday, March 29th
8:00-9:00am Iris/Rose Room, DoubleTree Hotel
Continental Breakfast

9:00-11:00am Iris/Rose Room
Second Business Meeting
Megale Prytanis Jesca Scaevola, presiding

Chapter T-Shirt Contest
Committee Reports
Report of the Executive Secretary, Thomas J. Sienkewicz
Report of the Chair of the Board of Trustees
Election of 2009 Convention Site
Election of 2008-09 National Officers
Installation of Officers

Closing Remarks

Beta Psi would like to say thank you, thank you very much to the following groups and people for their support in organizing, and hosting the convention:

William E. Troutt, President, Rhodes College
Michael Drompp, Vice President for Academic Affairs, Rhodes College
Thomas J. Sienkewicz, Executive Secretary, Eta Sigma Phi
Kathy Foreman, Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
Prof. Joseph Jansen, Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
Prof. Kenny Morrell, Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
Prof. Susan Satterfield, Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
Prof. David Sick, Greek and Roman Studies, Rhodes College
Prof. Glenda Swan, Department of Art, Rhodes College
Prof. Aileen Ajootian, Department of Classics, University of Mississippi
Search Program, Rhodes College
Officers of Beta Psi: Mary Ellen Dumas, Allie Marbry, Kelly White, Stephanie Wilson, Mackenzie Zalin
Past and Current Members of Beta Psi

Contact Numbers

Allie Marbry, Chair of Local Committee, (901) 237-5553
Mackenzie Zalin, Local Committee, (831) 917-4174
David Sick, Greek and Roman Studies, (901) 301-5696